The BMC Welsh Climbing Championships returns to North Wales for 2019, taking place at Beacon Climbing Centre on Saturday 9th February.

This lead climbing event is open to everyone (you don’t need to be Welsh to enter) including Veterans (born 1975 or earlier), Senior competitors (born 1975 to 2001) and all Junior categories down to Youth E (born 2002 to 2011).

It’s aimed at giving both climbers new to competitions and the seasoned pros a great day out, and even if you think that you’re not the competitive type, we reckon that anyone taking part will have a mega time and be truly inspired by watching others engage ‘try hard’ mode!

Please note that during the event, all climbing areas within Beacon Climbing Centre will be closed for non-competitors. However, CrazyClimb will operate as usual. Spectators are free to relax and watch in the areas overlooking the climbing.

Event details.

  • Saturday 9th February 2019.

  • Registration/warm up opens at 8.30am and closes at 9.30am.

  • Climbing starts at 10am and will include two qualifying rounds and a final.

  • Youth entry fee: BMC members £20, non-members £25.

  • Senior & Veteran entry fee: BMC members £30, non-members £35.

Each age category will climb two qualifying routes with the top climbers in each category then going through to attempt a final route to determine podium positions.

Those in youth E and D categories will top rope all their routes, whilst the older groups will be expected to lead climb. All competitors will get just one attempt at each route, which will increase in difficulty. A judge will score each ascent, with points being awarded for each hold used during the ascent. In the event of a tie during the final, qualifying routes will be used for count back.

Online entry is mandatory and the deadline for entries is 5:00pm on Monday 4th February. Please note that entries submitted after this date, and entries on the day, will not be accepted. All applicants will receive an email confirming receipt of their application. They will then receive a further email containing full event information after entries close on 4 February.


Age categories.

There are seven categories, with separate male and female competitions, that follow the IFSC (International Federation of Sport Climbing) system based on year of birth.

  • Veterans – those born 1975 or earlier

  • Seniors – those born in 1975 to 2001

  • Youth A – those born in 2002 & 2003
  • Youth B – those born in 2004 & 2005

  • Youth C – those born in 2006 & 2007
  • Youth D – those born in 2008 & 2009

  • Youth E – those born in 2010 & 2011

Parental consent must be given for any competitor aged under 18 years on the day of the event.